rEfleCtiOn

It’s hard to believe that there are only two weeks left in 2013. During this time of year I am careful to stop and reflect on what has taken place throughout the year, review the lessons that I have learned, and celebrate new life milestones that I have achieved.

Although this year was definitely full of disappointments and times of uncertainty, I must be fair and declare that it was also laced with times of joy and triumph. With each new turn of the season I became more aware of who I am and the cause for which I was born. A few scriptures stood out to me this year and became the ground on which I stood to keep my sanity, the paddle that I used to row my boat and the wind in my sail.

What scriptures, inspirational words, or thoughts stood out to you this year? Which ones kept you going when you had expended all of your strength? Here are mine:

James 1:2-4 MSG Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when tests and challenges come at you from all sides. You know that under pressure, your faith-life is forced into the open and shows its true colors. So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way.

Romans 8:26-28 Meanwhile, the moment we get tired in the waiting, God’s Spirit is right alongside helping us along. If we don’t know how or what to pray, it doesn’t matter. He does our praying in and for us, making prayer out of our wordless sighs, our aching groans. He knows us far better than we know ourselves, knows our pregnant condition, and keeps us present before God. That’s why we can be so sure that every detail in our lives of love for God is worked into something good.

Isaiah 66:9 In the same way I will not cause pain without allowing something new to be born,” says the Lord. “If I cause you the pain, I will not stop you from giving birth to your new nation,” says your God.

Happy Holidays Everybody!!!

