Holding Patterns

Well, here is yet another revelation that I received from this caterpillar picture-ha! If you missed the first two posts in this series you can check them out below:

#1 Where do I begin?
#2 How did I end up here?

Holding Patterns!you are here

I have experienced a time when I felt as though I was going in circles. It seemed as though the more I prayed the more things stayed the same–or got worse. I felt stagnant, estranged, and unheard. It took some time but I realized that there was nothing wrong with my prayers and I was, in fact, being heard. However, I believe the Lord had me in a holding pattern. This pattern was a season of growth for me as it caused me to stop and access what was going on in my life.

I am reminded of the story of Jonah and God’s season of speaking to Jonah’s heart. God sent Jonah to Ninevah to preach repentance and mercy as He knew that one day this city would become a great empire. Jonah refused and went his own way. As he was going his own way, he was eventually swallowed by a great fish and held for three days. I won’t go into the whole story but you can read it in the book of Jonah!

What I want to point out here is that a holding pattern is designed to bless you and set you on the right path. The holding patterns of our Father is not to seek revenge, but is merely His GREAT love towards us and desire to see us reach an expected end. The holding pattern has a purpose, a plan, and a process! Get in God’s face, continue to pray and find out what he would have to say to you! And again, keep marching!

Prayer of Transformation:
Dear God, I acknowledge all that I am feeling at this very moment and I lay it all at your feet. Show me what your will is for my life. Show me areas that need my attention and areas that are need of an overhaul. Thank you for directing my path. Help me to be patient and rest in you. In Jesus name, Amen!

Leave a Reply

