How did I end up here?

I was snooping around on my beloved computer when I found this very interesting picture of this caterpillar. I was intrigued initially and thought, “wow, he ran into his own backside!” As I studied the picture more closely I noticed the very bewildered and disappointed look on this poor caterpillars face. you are here

Needless to say my mind began to contemplate likely backstories to explain what I was witnessing. First, I thought, “How did he end up like this?” So many questions came to mind that I decided to create a series of posts. I couldn’t possibly attempt to write it all in one post!

“How did I end up here?”
There have been so many times in my life where I have felt like I was going in circles. I would start joyously and confidently walking in a particular direction but, through my own fallen nature, would find myself back on the same –and more familiar– path of old habits, thoughts, and beliefs. Eventually, I would run into my own backside and come to the conclusion that I’d been here before!

Gal 5:7 “You were running well. Who hindered you from obeying the truth?”

In running this race, or walking this journey (however you feel you the need to get there), we sometimes get distracted by circumstance and/or other people. Be on gaurd for these distractions. The moment  you realize that you are off course is the exact moment that you must stop, pray, and reroute (repent). Rerouting means turning and going in another direction or on another path. If not, you will end up like this caterpillar—marching along and running into your own behind!

Prayer of Transformation:
Father, thank you for showing me when I have taken the wrong path through my own sinful nature and distractions. My steps are ordered by you. Help me not to lean to my own understanding, to acknowledge you in all that I do, and allow you to direct my path. In Jesus name, Amen!

Leave a Reply

